Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - RX 480 mining Ethereum - Confirmed Working

GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
edited July 2016 in Mining
Download AMDGPU-Pro Driver Version 16.30 released by AMD.
The basics of the install:
1. download amdgpu-pro_16.30.3-306809.tar.xz
2. extract the compressed file to your home folder or somewhere.
3. goto that folder and now run the installation script "sudo ./amdgpu-pro-install"
AMD's page support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMD-Radeon-GPU-PRO-Linux-Beta-Driver%E2%80%93Release-Notes.aspx
And here is the direct link to the compressed file:
https://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/amdgpu-pro_16.30.3-306809.tar.xz
NOTE: You have to extract the compressed file and then run the script to install the driver to make opencl devices detectable (for ethminer, oclhashcat, etc.)
I am using 6 - RX 480 (4GB model ) in Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Stock settings. I believe the ram is at 7000mhz vs 8000 mhz in 8GB version.

Preliminary benchmarks

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Driver is 16.30 for Linux
Genoil 1.1.7
2 - XFX 4gb rx 480
4 - Sapphire 4gb rx 480

Doing about 134-139 mh/s. I'd say its doing about 22.5 or 23mh/s in Ubuntu 16.04 in stock mode.
Next up is finding out how to overclock/undervolt GPUs in Ubuntu 16.04 with atitweak or something else (amdconfig/aticonfig do not work anymore unless I need to install the SDK.. we shall see.) :)
Post edited by GreaterNinja on
«1345678

Comments

  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    You also need to run "aticonfig --od-enable" before trying to set clocks, etc., although it will make that clear when you try to. You should also run "sudo dpkg-reconfigure Xorg" and select "anyone". Once you do that, you can run the 'aticonfig' commands without 'sudo', as your normal userid.
  • skithunoskithuno Member Posts: 74
    Thanks for the details. I'm hoping something similar will work for the Rx 470 whenever they finally come out.
  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    Btw, you'll have to flash VBIOS to undervolt.
  • GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
    dlehenky said:

    You also need to run "aticonfig --od-enable" before trying to set clocks, etc., although it will make that clear when you try to. You should also run "sudo dpkg-reconfigure Xorg" and select "anyone". Once you do that, you can run the 'aticonfig' commands without 'sudo', as your normal userid.

    aticonfig, amdconfig, atitweak no longer works. there is a new way to overclock, etc...I'm still figuring out the stuff.
  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    Looking forward to hearing what you find! ^^
  • langxxllangxxl Member Posts: 1
    I can't run ethminer on ubuntu 16.04 with amdgpu-pro_16.30.3-306809 driver
    I use one SAPPHIRE 8G RX480
    dmesg show :

    amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: GPU fault detected: 147 0x0bd00401
    amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_ADDR 0x0645DF74
    amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_STATUS 0x0E0C4001
  • mista66mista66 Member Posts: 117
    edited July 2016
    @GreaterNinja thanks, was thinking about trying something like this.

    edit all went ok then when i try mining it freezes the computer gets as far as generating one big chunck or it will start mining with large fluctuation in Mh/s then soon freeze.
    Post edited by mista66 on
  • ipoMineripoMiner Member Posts: 6
    edited July 2016
    I have multiple 480 working on 16.04 with amdgpu-pro 16.30 -- all of the existing utilities (aticonfig, amdconfig, atitweak) do not work with it. It may be possible to get atitweak working with some modifications, as the /sys interface with pp_* tuning is similar, but the developer hasn't updated it in years so someone else will likely have to do the work.

    As usual, adjusting voltages in Linux isn't possible - you have to flash the vbios. Beyond that, it seems like there is currently a bug affecting setting at least the memory clock (pp_mclk_od): "VDDCI is larger than max VDDCI in VDDCI Voltage Table!" error in syslog regardless of the value set (0-20), and the memory drops to the low-state clock speed.

    Phoronix seems like the best source for the latest info about AMD GPUs on Linux, and they reported similar findings with the pp_mclk_od bug @ http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=amd-rx480-od&num=1
  • roitplsroitpls Member Posts: 11
    @ipoMiner @GreaterNinja Do you mind providing step by step setup for running Rx 480's in linux? I'm a linux noob but I'd like to use it since windows isnt working out for me.
  • ipoMineripoMiner Member Posts: 6
    edited July 2016
    @roitpls I don't have step by step instructions, but AMD does: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMDGPU-PRO-Install.aspx -- 16.04 was no different than the steps described for 14.04 for that. Of course for mining you'll also likely need the AMD APP SDK, an ETH miner, etc.
  • roitplsroitpls Member Posts: 11
    @ipoMiner So if i follow this guide: https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/2695/frontier-mining-setup-notes-ubuntu-15-04-geth-v1-0-amd-ethminer/p1 and replace fglrx-updates with amdgpu PRO i should be good to go?
  • judgejudge Member Posts: 2
    got the same as mista66

    all went ok then when i try mining it freezes the computer gets as far as generating one big chunck or it will start mining with large fluctuation in Mh/s then soon freeze.
  • mista66mista66 Member Posts: 117
    edited July 2016
    @judge which card are you using mine is an MSI with one fan so the air flows out the front of the card.

    Tried a few things in ubuntu and various switches but no joy, thought it might be the card. Installed win10 and it's mining away at 20-21Mh/s on stock setting 82°C. Have some Sapphire 480's on order will try those on ubuntu.

    Edit:

    I've heard a few ppl say these run hot so combined with OS limitation, I might rethink about using these for mining and stick with the power hungry 390's
    Post edited by mista66 on
  • EtheringEthering Member Posts: 19
    @langxxl
    I get the exact same error in the logs (dmesg) running ethminer. I haven't found a solution. In addition to that it uses up about 1+GB of additional disk space about every 5 minutes or so. And that is with ethminer logging level set to just -v 3 (default level is higher at 8).

    It still hashes, just not very good with an average of 16Mh/s.

    ASUS 8GB RX480
    Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
    AMDGPU-PRO v16.3
    parity v1.2.2-beta
    ethminer v1.2.9

    [ 1084.587016] VM fault (0x01, vmid 3) at page 47326788, read from 'TC0' (0x54433000) (8) [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: GPU fault detected: 147 0x05708801 [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_ADDR 0x00E0983C [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_STATUS 0x06088002 [ 1084.587016] VM fault (0x02, vmid 3) at page 14719036, read from 'TC6' (0x54433600) (136) [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: GPU fault detected: 147 0x0d78c401 [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_ADDR 0x03B9780A [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_STATUS 0x060C4001 [ 1084.587016] VM fault (0x01, vmid 3) at page 62486538, read from 'TC3' (0x54433300) (196) [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: GPU fault detected: 147 0x0c88c801 [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_ADDR 0x016D8DF6 [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_STATUS 0x06044001 [ 1084.587016] VM fault (0x01, vmid 3) at page 23956982, read from 'TC5' (0x54433500) (68) [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: GPU fault detected: 147 0x09e08801 [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_ADDR 0x006F7D1B [ 1084.587016] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: VM_CONTEXT1_PROTECTION_FAULT_STATUS 0x060C4002 etc. etc...
  • GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
    I get 21-23 MH/s on the 4 GB Sapphire and 4GB XFX. If you are getting a FAULT_STATUS message then something is wrong. Also ethminer v1.2.9 is an old version. You want to use genoil's 1.1.7 or 110 branch.
  • SmokyishSmokyish Member Posts: 203 ✭✭
    Has anyone tested the Mesa12.1-dev (https://launchpad.net/~paulo-miguel-dias/+archive/ubuntu/mesa/+build/10471002) drivers for performance on Eth mining yet?

    According to Phoronix's tests (https://phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=AMDGPU-Mesa-RX480-July-16) it is giving better performance on some games compared to AMDGPU-PRO.
  • GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
    Flashing BIOS over and over can be time consuming.
    I've successfully reduced power draw by 20-25 watts at the wall outlet.
    Stock Total System power draw was 205 watts/hr @ the wall with 1 - RX 480 card in.
    Total System power draw is now 180-185 watt/hr @ the wall

    Mining 22.5 to 23 mh/s on a 4gb Sapphire rx 480 in Ubuntu version 16.04 LTS.
    In Windows the card would probably run 24 to 25mh/s.

    I believe there is a bit more room to go. Gonna test a bit more then probably take a break as its nice outside
  • GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
    Got it down to 155w/hr for total system at wall now. 22.5 mh/s..more testing necessary.
  • ipoMineripoMiner Member Posts: 6
    edited July 2016
    @Smokyish I haven't, but I've been thinking about trying it. My guess is that the performance would be worse though. I did get Ubuntu 16.04 running kernel 4.6.x to work with amdgpu-pro 16.30, with some minor changes. For kernel 4.7.x, I can get the dkms module to compile and load, but the devices don't show up in the /sys/class/drm/* interface or for opencl use, so there's something still wrong there.

    I'd love to run at least 4.7rc3 because that's where the patches to properly set memory clocks came into the kernel tree. Alternatively, I was considering compiling a kernel with that specific patch backported into kernel 4.6.4.
  • EtheringEthering Member Posts: 19

    I get 21-23 MH/s on the 4 GB Sapphire and 4GB XFX. If you are getting a FAULT_STATUS message then something is wrong. Also ethminer v1.2.9 is an old version. You want to use genoil's 1.1.7 or 110 branch.

    @GreaterNinja you are my hero! No errors in the logs and 22Mh/s

    That is with the "110" branch that compiled itself to a version 1.1.7.

    Now to figure out/learn how to adjust settings to increase the hash/power ratio.

    Thanks again!
  • EtheringEthering Member Posts: 19

    Flashing BIOS over and over can be time consuming.
    I've successfully reduced power draw by 20-25 watts at the wall outlet.
    Stock Total System power draw was 205 watts/hr @ the wall with 1 - RX 480 card in.
    Total System power draw is now 180-185 watt/hr @ the wall

    Mining 22.5 to 23 mh/s on a 4gb Sapphire rx 480 in Ubuntu version 16.04 LTS.
    ...

    @GreaterNinja is there a BIOS flashing tool you are using to do this?
    On another note I've seen some guy in this forum that sells replacment mod BIOS'es (for R9 nano). What is that all about? Is he creating his own chips that somehow make mining better?
  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    @Ethering You are referring to @Heliox , and he doesn't sell anything, but can make a donation. :) Look up his thread here on the forum. And no, nobody "creates their own chips", it's a VBIOS ROM image file that you write to the card using atiflash, which only runs on Windows. Yes, it does improve performance on the Nano, both in terms of reduced power consumption, and with some versions, higher overclocking.
  • EtheringEthering Member Posts: 19
    Cool, so I assume the same could be done for the RX 480 but he hasn't got around to it yet. Maybe he needs a donation from me :-)
    However now that you say this, is this what @GreaterNinja is probably doing with his RX 480 and then moving his card back to the Ubuntu OS?
  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2016
    His main problem with the rx480, other than his time, is that the reference design only supports a single VBIOS image, i.e. there is no "BIOS A, BIOS B" switch on the card. So, if you screw up flashing of the VBIOS, your card is bricked. Some/all of the custom design cards coming soon will have a BIOS switch, so you always have a backup BIOS to revert to if the flashing goes badly. I think we'll see rx480 ROMs from @Heliox shortly after that, hint, hint. :)

    And yes, that's likely what 'Ninja is doing. That's what I do currently with my Nanos.
  • EtheringEthering Member Posts: 19
    Awesome, thank you for sharing your knowledge :-)
  • GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
    dlehenky said:

    His main problem with the rx480, other than his time, is that the reference design only supports a single VBIOS image, i.e. there is no "BIOS A, BIOS B" switch on the card. So, if you screw up flashing of the VBIOS, your card is bricked. Some/all of the custom design cards coming soon will have a BIOS switch, so you always have a backup BIOS to revert to if the flashing goes badly. I think we'll see rx480 ROMs from @Heliox shortly after that, hint, hint. :)

    And yes, that's likely what 'Ninja is doing. That's what I do currently with my Nanos.

    All that is needed unbrick a card is remote desktop or something like teamviewer along with integrated gpu from the cpu. I'm not even sure if iGPU is necessary. So, yes I did flash 1 bad bios, it literally flashed up on the screen that the bios was incompatible or something like that. I put it back in my bios flashing machine and flashed it back to stock via remote desktop connection.
  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2016
    @dlehenky @GreaterNinja @Ethering The main problem with RX 480s, is that the windows driver verifies the VBIOS signature, so the cards stop working in windows if you modify certain sections of the BIOS (which are of course the sections we care about).

    Hopefully AMD removes the signature checks later like with hawaii.
  • HelioxHeliox Member, Moderator Posts: 633 mod
    edited July 2016
    @Ethering ,

    Both @dlehenky and @work said it all :)

    Thx guys :)


    (will be more active again in a week or so.. very very busy lately..)
  • niubbo1969niubbo1969 Member Posts: 52

    I get 21-23 MH/s on the 4 GB Sapphire and 4GB XFX. If you are getting a FAULT_STATUS message then something is wrong. Also ethminer v1.2.9 is an old version. You want to use genoil's 1.1.7 or 110 branch.

    But for compiled the genoil 1.1.7 or 110 branch the instruction is for ubuntu 14.04, in ubuntu 16.04 is different where i found the instruction?
  • GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
    There is actually talks of someone getting signature verification working on the rx 480 for certain windows platforms. I guess I can test if my modified bios works on Windows 7 as well. Windows specifically has not been a focus for myself as I'm trying to reduce costs of operating system licenses in my GPU farm.
Sign In or Register to comment.