ethermine.org - The fastest way to mine ether

Comments

• killertoadkillertoad Member Posts: 4
    Hi, I'm new to this, and have a question. Whenever I start up the miner, I get a "invalid user" error from stratum. I'm not sure how to make a user, or anything?
  • blueboxbluebox Member Posts: 181 ✭✭
    I'll be switching over tonight. Been having increasing problems with another pool's stratum connection reliability, and even the old standard port drops out too often now (which used to be rock solid).

My solitary wish: it'd be nice if the minimum payout level could be a little lower, like 0.5 ETH. :#
  • Aurum420Aurum420 Member Posts: 20
    PPLNS is notorious for discarding a miner's work. An hour seems much too short.
    The pool uses a PPLNS payment scheme where rewards are distributed according to the shares submitted during the last hour.
  • dr_pradr_pra Member Posts: 445 ✭✭✭
    @Aurum420 any better suggestions in regards to the payment scheme?
    dr_pra said:

@Aurum420 any better suggestions in regards to the payment scheme?

Honestly, they all seem so complicated. It seems that payouts should just be proportional to work submitted: block_payout_total*my_work_submitted_since_last_block/total_pool_work_since_last_block=my_payout_this_block.

Maybe with blocks every 15 seconds an hour is an eternity and PPLNS would work fine.
    Prop will cause a very high variance in payouts as you need to submit shares immediately before a block is found. With ethereum it can happen that two blocks are found within seconds. The current system is much fairer in this case as it takes into account the total amount of work done by each miner during the last hour.
    dr_pra, So will your 60 minute PPLNS ever discard a miner's work??? I'll be moving my 60 M there as soon as I get my solo payout.