Question about Ethereum's Capabilites

For starters, let me say that I am a non-technical-unfrozen-caveman-waiter that is in love with the ideas (non-technical, of course) and principles that Ethereum is built on.

My idea is one that I had a long time ago after losing an ass of money when the tech bubble collapsed (I thought I was a gifted trader... I was not). I have made my living by identifying talented people, and would much rather invest in an individual than a corporation.

Would Ethereum be capable of powering a DAPP that would allow me to invest in an individual person with a chance at earning a return? There are several financial mechanisms by which this could be done, but I am not sure how the tech works. For example, I'd have a significant amount of money invested in Vitalik.

Any input is greatly appreciated... Thank you

Comments

• gaetanocaruanagaetanocaruana Member Posts: 28
    I can understand your first part - but how about ROI? Who will pay the return on your investment?

So you put $10,000 on Mr X. What is your return?
  • pilasunderlandpilasunderland Member Posts: 7
    The return could be ownership of a portion of funds that flow through the investee's future income on the ethereum platform, perhaps. This is contractually quite easy, no?

• MicahMicah Member Posts: 8
    You can setup a contract in Ethereum that will execute exactly as programmed. The two hard parts are getting truths into the system and writing a contract that is enforceable.

For the first, there are things like Auger that are designed to get truths into the system so that contracts can assert on those truths. This is not a generally solved problem and you either need to trust *someone* to enter truths into the system or you need some kind of reputation system for allowing incentive truth reporting en masse.