CUDA miner

1235769

Comments

  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    You know this is quite similar to what I experience on my home pc with Win 8.1 pro / GTX750Ti. it does have a bit of hashrate, but unhealthy low, including crashes and gpu mining errors. I haven't been able to find the cause for this, but perhaps I'm at least not alone anymore ;)



  • luckcraftluckcraft Member Posts: 4
    edited August 2015
    Genoil said:

    You know this is quite similar to what I experience on my home pc with Win 8.1 pro / GTX750Ti. it does have a bit of hashrate, but unhealthy low, including crashes and gpu mining errors. I haven't been able to find the cause for this, but perhaps I'm at least not alone anymore ;)

    Its kinda strange :/, yea this rig got 6 750ti cards. I can switch @ linux if its Win 8.1 pro problem.

    Edit: Tested 1 single GFX on win7 and it works fine.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @luckcraft win7 on the same hardware platform?
  • luckcraftluckcraft Member Posts: 4
    Genoil said:

    @luckcraft win7 on the same hardware platform?

    Yes

  • Messiano84Messiano84 Member Posts: 2
    Can someone provide binares for Winx64? I want to check my results against ordinary ethminer, but i'm not well-versed on compiling from source, I'm skipping that and downloading the automated builds. Thanks in advance!
  • buechlingbuechling Member Posts: 13
    edited August 2015
    Thank you for your hard work @Genoil

    I compiled actual github version on Ubuntu 14.04 x64 ( cuda-repo-ubuntu1404_7.0-28_amd64.deb )

    when i use "cmake -DETHASHCL=1 -DGUI=0",build is successfull. but when i use the "-U" Switch, only CPU is used. so Cuda is possibly not included.

    then i tried your hint "cmake -DBUNDLE=miner -DETHASHCU=1". but then it will not compile:

    [ 87%] Building CXX object libethcore/CMakeFiles/ethcore.dir/Ethash.cpp.o
    In file included from /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/EthashAux.h:27:0,
    from /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/BlockInfo.cpp:28:
    /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/Ethash.h: In static member function ‘static void dev::eth::Ethash::CUDAMiner::setDevices(unsigned int*, unsigned int)’:
    /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/Ethash.h:177:24: error: comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions [-Werror=sign-compare]
    for (int i = 0; i < gpuDeviceCount; i++) {
    ^
    In file included from /usr/local/cuda/include/CL/opencl.h:44:0,
    from /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/../libethash-cl/cl.hpp:163,
    from /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/../libethash-cl/ethash_cl_miner.h:12,
    from /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/Ethash.cpp:41:
    /usr/local/cuda/include/CL/cl_gl_ext.h:44:4: error: "/*" within comment [-Werror=comment]
    * /* cl_VEN_extname extension */
    ^
    [ 89%] Building CXX object libethcore/CMakeFiles/ethcore.dir/Miner.cpp.o
    [ 90%] Building CXX object libethcore/CMakeFiles/ethcore.dir/KeyManager.cpp.o
    cc1plus: all warnings being treated as errors
    make[2]: *** [libethcore/CMakeFiles/ethcore.dir/BlockInfo.cpp.o] Fehler 1
    make[2]: *** Auf noch nicht beendete Prozesse wird gewartet …
    In file included from /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/Ethash.cpp:22:0:
    /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/Ethash.h: In static member function ‘static void dev::eth::Ethash::CUDAMiner::setDevices(unsigned int*, unsigned int)’:
    /home/kabini/cpp1/cpp-ethereum/libethcore/Ethash.h:177:24: error: comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions [-Werror=sign-compare]
    for (int i = 0; i < gpuDeviceCount; i++) {
    ^
    cc1plus: all warnings being treated as errors
    make[2]: *** [libethcore/CMakeFiles/ethcore.dir/Ethash.cpp.o] Fehler 1
    make[1]: *** [libethcore/CMakeFiles/ethcore.dir/all] Fehler 2
    make: *** [all] Fehler 2
    edit: you can "solve" this by removing the "-Werror" parameter from
    cmake/EthCompilerSettings.cmake ( line 6 )

    then eth is not built. but ethminer is built!

    Here the Result for GTX 960 2GB // 8 GB Ram // Energy Saving CPU

    Benchmarking on platform: { "platform": "NVIDIA CUDA", "device": "GeForce GTX 960", "version": "OpenCL 1.1 CUDA" }
    Using device: GeForce GTX 960(OpenCL 1.1 CUDA)
    Trial 1... 10398378
    Trial 2... 10485760
    Trial 3... 10398378
    Trial 4... 10398378
    Trial 5... 10485760
    min/mean/max: 10398378/10433330/10485760 H/s
    inner mean: 10427505 H/s

    Benchmarking on platform: { "platform": "CUDA 7.0", "device": "GeForce GTX 960", "version": "Compute 5.2" }
    Using device: GeForce GTX 960(5.2)
    Trial 1... 10660522
    Trial 2... 10660522
    Trial 3... 10660522
    Trial 4... 10660522
    Trial 5... 10660522
    min/mean/max: 10660522/10660522/10660522 H/s
    inner mean: 10660522 H/s

    so we increased from 10,4 to 10,6 Mhash :)

    as a next step i will play with the parameters.. you also mentioned to upgrade OpenCL to 1.2 .. how is that possible? i already have the newest Nvidia Drivers.. or do i need some ATI packages?
    Post edited by buechling on
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2015
    @Messiano84 , attached is the most recent Win64 build. It has a new feature, similar to the -d switch in ccminer:

    ethminer -U --gpu-devices 0 2 3

    will not use GPU 1.

    @buechling , thank for the notice, i will fix the warnings where i can (I develop on windows and therefore am never blocked by get these warnings). Currently the CUDA miner only is compatible with ethminer. You can use it in combination with eth/geth.

    most likely --gpu-workgroup-size 128 will give you somewhat better results. Sometimes --gpu-batch-size 20 will do a little bit, as will --gpu-mining-buffers 3 or 4.

    OpenCL 1.2 should come with latest NVidia drivers, but may be Windows only still.
    Post edited by Genoil on
  • buechlingbuechling Member Posts: 13
    Genoil said:

    @Messiano84 , attached is the most recent Win64 build. It has a new feature, similar to the -d switch in ccminer:

    ethminer -U --gpu-devices 0 2 3

    will not use GPU 1.

    @buechling , thank for the notice, i will fix the warnings where i can (I develop on windows and therefore am never blocked by get these warnings). Currently the CUDA miner only is compatible with ethminer. You can use it in combination with eth/geth.

    most likely --gpu-workgroup-size 128 will give you somewhat better results. Sometimes --gpu-batch-size 20 will do a little bit, as will --gpu-mining-buffers 3 or 4.

    OpenCL 1.2 should come with latest NVidia drivers, but may be Windows only still.

    slight increase with the three parameters.. 10,8 Mhash..

    as a next step i wanted to give windows a try.. i can use your uploaded x64-exe with -G and get the same 10,4 MHash.. but when i use -U, the programm crashes ( "Windows detected an error" )
    do i need any additional software on windows? i have a fresh windows 10, Nvidia Drivers, Cuda Drivers.. something missing?

  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    it isn't much indeed. overall performance of 960 is disappointing, with GTX750ti @ 8MH/s and GTX970 @ ~17MH/s.

    error may be windows 10 related. the binary was built on windows 7 with cuda 7.5RC.
  • officialscrofficialscr Member Posts: 6
    Genoil said:

    11 over 7 is a bit much indeed. Are you using similar workgroup size on both?

    Or it's a driver thing. What card are you using?

    I'm going to connect to ethpool to see for certain later today. Ethpool will calculate my hash rate and display it I think? So far i was using private geth server which doesn't report, however I did mine a block or two.

    Also your miner has crashed hardly once for me. The only crash happened when the DAG was not generated. I had to start with cpu mining, until the first DAG was written.

    Iuse default parameters.. but maybe I will try setting the workgroup.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    edited August 2015
    Getting low hash rate on 750ti's. About 1-3 mH/s on each. When I add the --gpu flags it locks my system up.

    Using Windows 7 64bit.

    Any ideas?

    @Genoil

    I tried running some of the other versions and it says missing "cudart64_70.dll" and I tried googling but could not find it.
    Post edited by antonio8 on
  • cidmocidmo Member Posts: 446 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2015
    Ive been trying to get my 750ti short card(no 6pin) working right compared to other benchs. With the opencl miner i get about 3.4Mh with the cuda and running -U I get about 5.3Mh. Improvement but quite a bit lower compared to others with the 750ti OC(im assuming 6pin). There shouldnt be that much of a difference so it must be something on my end. I used the ethereum(++)win64 latest.exe and i5 4690k, 16gb ram, win7 is the specs. Any ideas?

    Oh yea funny thing too, Im also using a 290x with the cuda ethminer from ur zip. Gives me a slightly higher hash with -G than the one that came with the above exe. So good job on that side dunno what is different but its different.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @cidmo @antonio8 do you get similarly bad OpenCL performance with the official ethminer?

    the older binaries here were built with CUDA 7.0, hence its dependency on cudart64_70.dll. i don't have these any longer either, but I wouldn't bother to try if they're faster, they're only marginally different.

    i don't know what it is with these unwilling 750s, have yet to figure it out.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    @Genoil
    I do get the same bad performance on the ethminer but can't say for sure as it is the official.

    The only thing that I found out is for some reason your miner locks one of my cards up and I have to reboot where that does not happen on the regular etherminer.

    Maybe it's a driver issue on my end and I am downloading the newest one for Windows 7 now and retrying. Also not sure if I have your latest miner but using the 20150806.

    I also tried to recompile your source but can't find the .snl file anywhere.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2015
    Windows build instructions:

    - download/git clone source
    - cd cpp-ethereum
    - mkdir build
    - cd build
    - cmake -DBUNDLE=miner -DETHASHCU=1 [-DCOMPUTE=XX] -G "Visual Studio 12 2013 Win64" ..
    - launch generated .sln
    - set ethminer as starup project
    - build/run


    [-DCOMPUTE=XX] is optional. You can use it to build only for specific version of CUDA Compute. i.e. for GTX 9x0 (Compute 5.2) specificy -DCOMPUTE52. It won't change performance, only decrease binary size and compile time.

    Note for people that have hung around for a while. I removed the -DMAXREGCOUNT build parameter. Instead register usage can be tuned with __launch_bounds(max_threads, min_blocks). As I only have 1 working GTX780, I haven't been able to find optimal settings for other devices. My guess is that it won't be much different between GTX7x0 and GTX9x0 cards, as they are quite similar in this respect.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    Updating driver made no difference.

    One thing I do notice is when I find a "share" my hash rate is super high, around 50-84 Mh/s but drops fast to 9-12 Mh/s.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    for an 'objective' measurement of hashrate, use the -M (benchmark) flag.
  • salvassalvas Member Posts: 2
    750ti win7,64 benchmark 8mh but the pool or solo i have only 1,7mh why.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    Curious if the problem with the miner and 750ti (at least in my instance) is not enough system memory.
  • ptkptk Member Posts: 10
    Something happened, but the same miner with the same config is only hashing at 1-2 mhs instead of 8.1 per 750 Ti. Tried recreating DAGs, no success.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    Something I just noticed on the 750ti computer. I am just using this to pool mine: -U --gpu-devices 0 1 2 3 4 but for some reason all of mu cpu cores are at 100%. Even if I just use device 0 That is not the case with my 960 rig though.
  • o0ragman0oo0ragman0o Member, Moderator Posts: 1,291 mod
    edited August 2015
    @antonio8, You should only need -t 5 for all GPU's instead of --gpu-devices. Can you see the GPU's being picked up when ethminer ramps up? Also, what CPU are you using? I have a Phenom II x4 925 and curiously it's jumped from 200% (2 of 4 cores) with 4 GPU's to 390% usage after I put in a 5th 750Ti yesterday.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    edited August 2015
    @o0ragman0o , I will try the -t. I was just using the --gpu-devices from a post I read a few pages back that Genoil (I believe) posted.

    On the gpu ramp up, when I start it and the cpu usage kicks to 100% it bogs the system down a lot and takes a while. Nvidia Inspector does show the load at 90-100% on some but some show 0% but the system is so bogged down I don't trust that they are not mining.

    I am using a Phenom II X6 1100T with the 750ti's (bogs down) and in the 960 rig an I7 4790K (running smooth).


    Also both rigs over 12 GB of memory so I ruled that out as an issue, or hopefully so. 750ti rig has 12 Gb of memory and the 960 rig has 16 GB of memory.

    EDIT: The -t made no difference in the 750ti rig. Still bogs down a lot and cpu 100% on all cores. I also have 5 750ti's in that rig and only 3 960's with 1 750ti.

    Maybe it is the amount of cards holding it back.
    Post edited by antonio8 on
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2015
    @o0ragman0o "--gpu-devices" is the new and improved "-t", allowing you to exactly specify which devices you want instead of from "0 to t"

    @ptk are you using the exact same binary or did you try one of my newer builds?

    Attached is a zip with 2 binaries. One uses shared memory to share data between GPU threads, the other uses warp shuffles. Could be that 750Ti has issues with the latter. On Kepler I get only .5% speed increase between the two.

    I don't think the issue is lack of RAM or CPU, or number of cards. I have GTX750Ti on i5-4570 with 8GB that just crawls (ethminer only). When I take that 750 and plug it alongside my 780 in a 16GB Xeon E5, it easily does 8MH/s. Must be some driver or Windows thing...
  • SuchFakeAccountSuchFakeAccount Member Posts: 14
    edited August 2015
    I have also problem with 750ti and G1820T CPU. I get around 2.3Mh/s and afterburner shows 46% GPU usage. Task manager reports that ethminer has 46 to 50% CPU usage. I'm running on win10.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @SuchFakeAccount what are you using? Official miner, CUDA miner, from soure or posted binary?
  • SuchFakeAccountSuchFakeAccount Member Posts: 14
    edited August 2015
    Right now I'm using latest CUDA miner that you posted. I tried few others also and got started from here: http://cryptomining-blog.com/5323-quick-guide-on-how-to-mine-ethereum-on-windows/.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    @Genoil
    I am not a dev by any means at all and can't code to save my life. With that said though I do have a question.

    Was this build on compute_50 or compute_52?

    The cuda-share did seem better as the hash rate for the 750ti's improved to about 3 Mh/s but did spike for a little while at about 8-9 Mh/s. The rig was still bogged down a lot but no issues like that with the 960.

    I could not follow your instructions earlier to create the .sln file as when I compile they are already created.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    the binaries provided have support from Compute 2.0 up to 5.2.

    if you get only 3MH/s per 750Ti, there is a problem somewhere else than in shared vs shuffled. it should do 8-9MH/s. i mean, i get reports from others with the same problem that the shuffled version works better :)

    it remains a mystery...
  • mrpmrp Member Posts: 7
    not helpful, with shuffled version also 2 mh/card for 750Ti

    the problem with utilize videocard memory controller - only 10-30% of max

    but for gtx970 memory controller utilized fully
Sign In or Register to comment.