Cloud GPU mining with Amazon AWS EC2

terzimterzim LondonMember Posts: 41
Hi all,

I read some references on cloud GPU mining using Amazon Web Services (AWS) instances (http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/instance-types/). Has anyone ever tried this service and came across howtos? Any ideas on applicability to Ethereum mining and / or projected cost-reward profile?

Thanks - Massi

Comments

• GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    This guy seems to have figured it out: http://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/comment/8605/#Comment_8605

24MH/s is not very good considering the amount of hardware involved. All NVidia so not ideal.
  • terzimterzim LondonMember Posts: 41
    @wuehler I am aware you were on this topic too. Any tips & tricks to share so far?
  • angelomilanangelomilan Member Posts: 8
    Hey guys hi @jesus666 thanks to @paul_bxd I'm putting together a "Ethereum cloud mining for dummies" guide. I'm not technical.
    Maybe the best thing to do for dummies like me would be to stay away and wait for a desktop client with a graphic user interface (Mist?)
    Anyway, what I'm trying to do is to turn all the wikis by developers, for developers into a "100 easy steps" (ha ha, this time for real) into something the average joe can apply immediately.
    I want to contribute from the start.
    The faster we make Ethereum "understandable" for average people, the more people will come in, the more traction ethereum will get.

Frankly, I still have problems getting to gpu mining.
    Here is my draft:

https://medium.com/@angelomilan/cb2c8d3fa8b6

If you want to contribute, you are very welcome

Ciao!
  • angelomilanangelomilan Member Posts: 8
    you can PM me ;-)
    ok, we are completing a "for dummy" guide on this topic, which may be of interest to me. @jesus666 are you Konstantin? I will send you the "for dummy" guide for review.
  • Michael_AMichael_A LondonMember Posts: 61
  • CanaryInTheMineCanaryInTheMine Member Posts: 41