GPU Mining is out, come and let us know of your bench scores!

13738394143

Comments

  • StreszczStreszcz Posts: 8Member
    Hello, everyone I want to start mining Etherum by building my own Rid and using software EthOS from https://gpushack.com/collections/gpushack

    But I'm confused about the title of the thread - "GPU mining is out" What does it exactly mean?

    If the mining is still possible I want to know something.

    1. By how many degrees (C or F) will temperature rise in the room ?
    2. How man decibels does the work of the Rig generates ?
    3. How can I calculate my Hash power before buying certain GPUs?
    4. What is the curent ROI on 5-6 GPU Mining RIG? Let's say I can spend over 1.5k US $ on a Rig.
  • toothalicioustoothalicious Posts: 36Member
    Streszcz said:

    Hello, everyone I want to start mining Etherum by building my own Rid and using software EthOS from https://gpushack.com/collections/gpushack

    But I'm confused about the title of the thread - "GPU mining is out" What does it exactly mean?

    If the mining is still possible I want to know something.

    1. By how many degrees (C or F) will temperature rise in the room ?
    2. How man decibels does the work of the Rig generates ?
    3. How can I calculate my Hash power before buying certain GPUs?
    4. What is the curent ROI on 5-6 GPU Mining RIG? Let's say I can spend over 1.5k US $ on a Rig.

    All of your questions rely on so many external factors that they're basically unanswerable.
    1. How big's the room? How good's the insulation? How much ventilation is there? What are the specs of the pc you're going to build and what configurations are you going to run it with? Your room is undefined so theres no way to tell.
    2. What brand gpu did you buy? What heatsink/fan is the gpu using? How big are the heatsink fans? How fast are the fans running? How many fans are running?
    3. Just research what configurations other people are using with what cards to get good estimates of hashrates from that card.
    4. Again, no way to tell because that depends on the GPUs you buy, and the configs you run them with along with OS and mining software, and the cost of your electricity.
  • Zikooamalou7Zikooamalou7 Posts: 15Member
    Genoil said:

    Give my CUDA miner a spin on an AWS g2.large instance:

    ubuntu@ip-172-31-2-26:~/cpp-ethereum/build/ethminer$ ./ethminer -U -M --gpu-workgroup-size 128 --gpu-batch-size 20 -t 4
    Benchmarking on platform: { "platform": "CUDA 7.0", "device": "GRID K520", "version": "Compute 3.0" }
    Preparing DAG...
      ℹ  15:56:00|cudaminer0  workLoop 0 #00000000… #00000000…
      ℹ  15:56:00|cudaminer1  workLoop 0 #00000000… #00000000…
      ℹ  15:56:00|cudaminer0  Initialising miner...
      ℹ  15:56:00|cudaminer1  Initialising miner...
      ℹ  15:56:00|cudaminer2  workLoop 0 #00000000… #00000000…
      ℹ  15:56:00|cudaminer2  Initialising miner...
      ℹ  15:56:00|cudaminer3  workLoop 0 #00000000… #00000000…
      ℹ  15:56:00|cudaminer3  Initialising miner...
    Warming up...
    Using device: GRID K520(3.0)
    Using device: GRID K520(3.0)
    Using device: GRID K520(3.0)
    Using device: GRID K520(3.0)
    Trial 1... 46137344
    Trial 2... 46137344
    Trial 3... 46137344
    Trial 4... 46137344
    Trial 5... 46137344
     ⚡   15:56:18|ethminer  Stop worker 0.168509 s
     ⚡   15:56:18|ethminer  Stop worker 0.183154 s
     ⚡   15:56:18|ethminer  Stop worker 0.140852 s
    min/mean/max: 46137344/46137344/46137344 H/s
    inner mean: 46137344 H/s
    Phoning home to find world ranking...
    Error phoning home. ET is sad.
    This for why sir ???
  • costiscostis RomaniaPosts: 10Member
    My config:
    HW:
    - 4 x MSI Radeon X RX 480 GAMING 8GB 256-bit DDR5 + 2 next day
    - Asus M5A97 EVO R2.0
    - 4G DDR3 Furry
    - PSU1: 850W Corsair: MB + SSD + splitter PCI Express 1x slots 1-3 + 3xRX480
    -

    SW:
    - Win10
    - Crimson 16.9.1
    - Claymore's Dual Ethereum v8.0 (ETH only, for benchmark)

    Results:
    - Reported Hashrate: 116 MH / s
  • ciprianptciprianpt Posts: 179Member ✭✭
    costis said:

    My config:
    HW:
    - 4 x MSI Radeon X RX 480 GAMING 8GB 256-bit DDR5 + 2 next day
    - Asus M5A97 EVO R2.0
    - 4G DDR3 Furry
    - PSU1: 850W Corsair: MB + SSD + splitter PCI Express 1x slots 1-3 + 3xRX480
    -

    SW:
    - Win10
    - Crimson 16.9.1
    - Claymore's Dual Ethereum v8.0 (ETH only, for benchmark)

    Results:
    - Reported Hashrate: 116 MH / s

    Looks good, i think you can squeeze a bit more hashrate.. GPU power only draw is high, try to undervolt.. salutare! bios mod?
  • costiscostis RomaniaPosts: 10Member
    Hello, I am not very pleased with the 29 mh.s graphics card: MSI Radeon X RX 480 GAMING 8GB DDR5 with bios'modat '. Today I'm going to buy you two and try nou..Un help is welcome and appreciated!

    PS. What video card do you have?
  • theneogeo1982theneogeo1982 Posts: 513Member ✭✭
    I agree... People say you should be hitting 30-32 with 480's .... Seems like 470 scores
  • fabarfabar Posts: 3Member
    Just to leave my contribution, we have a small rig made by 2x RX470 4GB Nitro and a single R9 290 on Windows server 2012 R2. This configuration on a single chassis produced at last 63MHs but the same configuration on two different PCs (one with a 470 + 290 on windows 2012 r2 and the other with a single 470 on windows 10) produced a totale hashing power of 68MHs, the second one with 24MHs alone.. How can explain that?
    We installed windows 2012 R2 for its stability but it seems that Windows 10 makes a difference..
  • BUTUZBUTUZ Posts: 130Member ✭✭
    Windows 10 is as fast as you can get.
  • ParticusMarkParticusMark Posts: 4Member
    I just got into mining about a week ago. I have 2 gtx 1080's and I'm getting about ~46Mh/s.

    Seems about right to me from all I've read, Was only getting about 39-40 at first, but after tweaking the memory clock settings in msi afterburner, I got it up to where it is now. I'd like to get closer to 50mh/s if possible, but idk what else I can do to squeeze a little more out of the cards. I was thinking about trying to run a second instance of the genoil ethminer in cmd prompt, and use this to try to CPU mine with my i7 6700k at the same time, but I'm unsure if it would really be worth it in the long run.. (the most recent discussion I've seen regarding this is like a year old I think.
  • supere989supere989 Posts: 3Member
    edited March 30
    fabar said:

    Just to leave my contribution, we have a small rig made by 2x RX470 4GB Nitro and a single R9 290 on Windows server 2012 R2. This configuration on a single chassis produced at last 63MHs but the same configuration on two different PCs (one with a 470 + 290 on windows 2012 r2 and the other with a single 470 on windows 10) produced a totale hashing power of 68MHs, the second one with 24MHs alone.. How can explain that?
    We installed windows 2012 R2 for its stability but it seems that Windows 10 makes a difference..

    It isn't technically a issue with the Operating system itself. Your results differ because the drivers you are using in Windows 10 are consumer grade retail drivers. Server operating systems do not undergo the same rigorous development cycles that the Desktop OS drivers do. Therefore, more development time goes into the Desktop Drivers than the server drivers. Windows Server 2012 = Smaller Customer base than Windows 10 Desktop. This is the same issue you will find in Linux as well.

    I have 8 RX480's and 4 R9 380x cards, and I run them all on Windows 10 Pro. ~304/Mhs
  • Rich2016Rich2016 Posts: 131Member
    edited April 5
    hey guys whats up?

    I just bought 4 Rx 470 4gb PowerColor and I was wondering which driver is the best one to use for these cards. I'am about to test one of them now so I hope its going at least 24mh/s

    Thank you


    Edit:

    Just tested it using the 17.2.1 driver and its going 19mh/s so iam going to test it on the 16.9.2 driver iam seeing allot of post with that one
    Post edited by Rich2016 on
  • fabarfabar Posts: 3Member
    We are using the 17.2.1 WHQL drivers on Windows 10 pro too and the Sapphire Rx 470 4GB (Nitro) goes at 24 MHs. Are you testing it against a pool o directly with the miner? sometimes pools give different MHs values than the local machine ones..
  • Rich2016Rich2016 Posts: 131Member
    edited April 9
    fabar said:

    We are using the 17.2.1 WHQL drivers on Windows 10 pro too and the Sapphire Rx 470 4GB (Nitro) goes at 24 MHs. Are you testing it against a pool o directly with the miner? sometimes pools give different MHs values than the local machine ones..

    iam mining with dwafpool the best i got so far is 23-24mh/s 17.2.1 driver same as you)
    i got the mem clock at 1850 the default is 1650 and core clock default 1210 because its not overclocking the core clock no matter where i put it lol
  • BigPinkFlamingoBigPinkFlamingo Posts: 22Member
    edited April 10

    Currently running an MSI 470 8GB, Micron memory unfortunatley. Is this power consumption a bit too high for 28.5MH/s? What should I be aiming for?

    I am sitting at about 210W at the socket with 1 GPU. But GPU-Z says the GPU alone is 130W.
  • BigPinkFlamingoBigPinkFlamingo Posts: 22Member
    fabar said:

    Just to leave my contribution, we have a small rig made by 2x RX470 4GB Nitro and a single R9 290 on Windows server 2012 R2. This configuration on a single chassis produced at last 63MHs but the same configuration on two different PCs (one with a 470 + 290 on windows 2012 r2 and the other with a single 470 on windows 10) produced a totale hashing power of 68MHs, the second one with 24MHs alone.. How can explain that?
    We installed windows 2012 R2 for its stability but it seems that Windows 10 makes a difference..

    I have heard that Windows 10 performs the best for mining. Your assumption is correct.
  • Rich2016Rich2016 Posts: 131Member
    hey guys I got my 4x Powercolor Red dragons to go up to 95mh/s they should be going 104 for each to get 26mh/s but I can't get the right bios mod for it. I tried to change the last 4 and 2 timings in the bios using PolarisBiosEditor but after doing it and restarting the PC the video card is not working and in the device manager its saying "windows has disabled this device because it reported a problem" I was so lucky after flashing the card back to the normal bios the video card started to work again lol.
    I was so worried, at 1st I taught I lost the card or it wouldn't get flash back to normal but its working just fine now.

    I now have the mem clock at 1950 and core clock default 1210. Its going up and down between 87 and 102 mostly 95. I hope I get it to reach 104 and get stable hash rate at least 100 sometime soon.

    The Zcash mining is stable going at the correct speed with the latest Claymore miner ) but ETH mining is not going at the correct speed with any miner (.

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131705
  • koenkakoenka Posts: 1Member
    Hey Guys, how many shares are you getting p/hour? I'm running 175mh/s.. around 170 shares per hour on ethmine.org.

    Just wondering what you guys are getting.
  • chinpowchinpow Posts: 37Member
    Hi
    I share my result rx480 msi 8go with modded bios
  • Jo3LJo3L Posts: 34Member
  • ArjunkingArjunking Posts: 5Member
    edited April 17
    Just setup my first rig
    Used some parts from old PC
    Athlon processor
    4*Sapphire RS480 4gb nitro (without the plus) - All Samsung memory
    Currently getting a stable 29mh/s . Running over a day
    Getting a lot stale shares. Seems to a problem with the Wifi. I didn't use the extender cable so all those graphic cards must have been cutting the signal. Hopefully it should be much better with the extender cable.
    I can push it above 30mh/s but then power usage increases a lot
    Any suggestions?


  • Dunny007Dunny007 Posts: 14Member
    Hi guys am running 6 asus dual rx480 8gb cards with a mod all run ether at 28mh/s would like a bit more really has anyone got these cards or link me to some mods to trial? Power use is below 1000w on z97 extreme 4 mb 8gb ram 120ssd base line 1150 cpu. Unstable dual mining against decred as temps and electric go to high help and advice welcome
  • Jo3LJo3L Posts: 34Member
    @Dunny007 i've the same prob as u. MY rig is not stable, I had 12 hours running with 29 MHs stables but then 1 of them get OpenCL error and now no one get that 29.. :(
  • cvekscveks Posts: 54Member


    Currently running an MSI 470 8GB, Micron memory unfortunatley. Is this power consumption a bit too high for 28.5MH/s? What should I be aiming for?

    I am sitting at about 210W at the socket with 1 GPU. But GPU-Z says the GPU alone is 130W.

    can you post your BIOS moded?
  • Dunny007Dunny007 Posts: 14Member
    Jo3L said:

    @Dunny007 i've the same prob as u. MY rig is not stable, I had 12 hours running with 29 MHs stables but then 1 of them get OpenCL error and now no one get that 29.. :(

    Have settled with single mining and at last flash am getting 28.8 a card 173 total run for 21 hrs fine so far
  • Jo3LJo3L Posts: 34Member
    @Dunny007 I would like to copy your bios but I've the 4gb duals :(
  • sdbrownsdbrown Posts: 1Member
    My Xeon workstation with a GTX1070 running Linux Mint 18.1 & NVIDIA drivers 375.39 gets about 7 MH/s before the GTX kicks from P0 to P2; about 23 MH/s after the GTX shifts to P2.
  • NonlinNonlin Posts: 2Member
    edited April 22
    Hey guys new to mining, I get about 20 MH with my 1080 on win 10, any tips to get this expensive card to do a bit more work?

    EDIT: I've also noticed that the 1080 seems to underclock on load, not sure why.
    Post edited by Nonlin on
  • Blue1984Blue1984 Posts: 43Member
    System:
    6xSAPPHIRE NITRO+ RADEON RX 470 8G
    ASRock H81Pro BTC 2.0 Mainboard LGA 1155
    Intel Celeron G1610, 2x 2,6GHz
    4 GB RAM
    Super Flower - Leadex Titanium 1600W Netzteil
    Windows 10
    Claymore's Dual Ethereum AMD+NVIDIA GPU Miner v9.1

    I measure the power consumption with a calibrated electricity Watt meter

    691 Watt / 168,5 MHS

    -> 4,1 Watt / MHS

    someone get better efficiency?
  • Dunny007Dunny007 Posts: 14Member
    Jo3L said:

    @Dunny007 I would like to copy your bios but I've the 4gb duals :(

    Still unstable getting open cl fault on gpu 3 had 35 hrs tun then stopped twice in 6 hrs my friend tried bios on 4g same result my friend more work to be done
Sign In or Register to comment.