Claymore Miner - Crashes at Create GPU Buffer

dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
edited January 25 in Mining
Hello there,

I am using Claymore's Dual Miner V10.5 to mine Ethereum. I am using the ETH only mining mode. Whenever I run the start.bat error, my computer hangs and then crashes after this step: "Create GPU Buffer for GPU2"

Here are my specs:
1x Sapphire RX470 4GB Mining Edition
1x Asus Duo RX580 8GB
1x Asus STRIX RX580 8GB
Intel Celeron G3930
4GB Corsair Value Select DDR4 2133Mhz
MSI Z270 Gaming Plus
Corsair HX1200
Corsair ForceLE 120GB

Occasionally, after about 10 computer restarts, I can get the Miner to run successfully and pull 76Mh/s. But this only rarely happens.

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks.
«1

Comments

  • PalladanPalladan Member Posts: 24
    Which of the cards is GPU2? Is it the RX470 4G? Have you modded the bios at all?
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    I have modded the BIOS, and GPU 2 is my Asus STRIX RX580 8GB. I'm pretty sure of that at least (if you know how to find out for sure, that would be great).
  • Ericjh801Ericjh801 Utah, USAMember Posts: 360 ✭✭
    If you look in the folder where Claymore is, there should be a bunch of log files. You may want to look at those specifically for errors on the times it doesn't start. You might be able to figure it out from there or copy/paste the errors you see to the forum and someone can help.
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    Ok, I will post here later today. Thanks.
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    Below is a log file. After the last line, the computer hangs and eventually restarts.

    14:05:02:196 1f68 args: -epool eth-us-west1.nanopool.org:9999 -ewal 0x329d1b0CfF27C8734aD07c41d7865E351771995F/dood1/[email protected] -epsw x -mode 1 -ftime 10
    14:05:02:196 1f68
    14:05:02:196 1f68 ÉÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍ»
    14:05:02:196 1f68 º Claymore's Dual ETH + DCR/SC/LBC/PASC GPU Miner v10.0 º
    14:05:02:212 1f68 ÈÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍͼ
    14:05:02:212 1f68
    14:05:02:431 1f68 This pool (eth-eu2.nanopool.org) does not support Ethereum addresses as login (or requires worker name in "Login.Worker" format) and cannot be used for devfee mining, therefore it is not supported.
    14:05:02:446 1f68 However, you can mine on this pool if you specify "-allpools 1" option, default pools (different from this pool) will be used for devfee.
    14:05:02:446 1f68 Please read "Readme" file for details
    14:05:02:462 1f68 This pool (eth-eu2.nanopool.org) does not support Ethereum addresses as login (or requires worker name in "Login.Worker" format) and cannot be used for devfee mining, therefore it is not supported.
    14:05:02:462 1f68 However, you can mine on this pool if you specify "-allpools 1" option, default pools (different from this pool) will be used for devfee.
    14:05:02:478 1f68 Please read "Readme" file for details
    14:05:02:478 1f68 Pool eth-eu2.nanopool.org removed from the list
    14:05:02:493 1f68 This pool (eth-us-east1.nanopool.org) does not support Ethereum addresses as login (or requires worker name in "Login.Worker" format) and cannot be used for devfee mining, therefore it is not supported.
    14:05:02:493 1f68 However, you can mine on this pool if you specify "-allpools 1" option, default pools (different from this pool) will be used for devfee.
    14:05:02:509 1f68 Please read "Readme" file for details
    14:05:02:509 1f68 This pool (eth-us-east1.nanopool.org) does not support Ethereum addresses as login (or requires worker name in "Login.Worker" format) and cannot be used for devfee mining, therefore it is not supported.
    14:05:02:524 1f68 However, you can mine on this pool if you specify "-allpools 1" option, default pools (different from this pool) will be used for devfee.
    14:05:02:524 1f68 Please read "Readme" file for details
    14:05:02:540 1f68 Pool eth-us-east1.nanopool.org removed from the list
    14:05:02:556 1f68 This pool (eth-us-west1.nanopool.org) does not support Ethereum addresses as login (or requires worker name in "Login.Worker" format) and cannot be used for devfee mining, therefore it is not supported.
    14:05:02:571 1f68 However, you can mine on this pool if you specify "-allpools 1" option, default pools (different from this pool) will be used for devfee.
    14:05:02:587 1f68 Please read "Readme" file for details
    14:05:02:587 1f68 This pool (eth-us-west1.nanopool.org) does not support Ethereum addresses as login (or requires worker name in "Login.Worker" format) and cannot be used for devfee mining, therefore it is not supported.
    14:05:02:603 1f68 However, you can mine on this pool if you specify "-allpools 1" option, default pools (different from this pool) will be used for devfee.
    14:05:02:618 1f68 Please read "Readme" file for details
    14:05:02:634 1f68 Pool eth-us-west1.nanopool.org removed from the list
    14:05:02:634 1f68 This pool (eth-asia1.nanopool.org) does not support Ethereum addresses as login (or requires worker name in "Login.Worker" format) and cannot be used for devfee mining, therefore it is not supported.
    14:05:02:650 1f68 However, you can mine on this pool if you specify "-allpools 1" option, default pools (different from this pool) will be used for devfee.
    14:05:02:665 1f68 Please read "Readme" file for details
    14:05:02:665 1f68 This pool (eth-asia1.nanopool.org) does not support Ethereum addresses as login (or requires worker name in "Login.Worker" format) and cannot be used for devfee mining, therefore it is not supported.
    14:05:02:681 1f68 However, you can mine on this pool if you specify "-allpools 1" option, default pools (different from this pool) will be used for devfee.
    14:05:02:696 1f68 Please read "Readme" file for details
    14:05:02:712 1f68 Pool eth-asia1.nanopool.org removed from the list
    14:05:02:712 1f68 ETH: 1 pool is specified
    14:05:02:728 1f68 Main Ethereum pool is eth-us-west1.nanopool.org:9999
    14:05:03:196 1f68 OpenCL platform: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
    14:05:03:196 1f68 OpenCL platform: Intel(R) OpenCL
    14:05:03:243 1f68 OpenCL initializing...

    14:05:03:259 1f68 AMD Cards available: 3
    14:05:03:275 1f68 GPU #0: Ellesmere, 8192 MB available, 36 compute units
    14:05:03:290 1f68 GPU #0 recognized as Radeon RX 480/580
    14:05:03:306 1f68 GPU #1: Ellesmere, 4096 MB available, 32 compute units
    14:05:03:321 1f68 GPU #1 recognized as Radeon RX 470/570
    14:05:03:337 1f68 GPU #2: Ellesmere, 8192 MB available, 36 compute units
    14:05:03:353 1f68 GPU #2 recognized as Radeon RX 480/580
    14:05:03:353 1f68 POOL/SOLO version
    14:05:03:368 1f68 b415
    14:05:03:384 1f68 Platform: Windows
    14:05:03:446 1f68 start building OpenCL program for GPU 0...
    14:05:04:103 1f68 done
    14:05:04:337 1f68 start building OpenCL program for GPU 1...
    14:05:04:707 1f68 done
    14:05:04:926 1f68 start building OpenCL program for GPU 2...
    14:05:05:272 1f68 done
    14:05:05:534 1f68 GPU #0: algorithm ASM
    14:05:05:571 1f68 GPU #1: algorithm ASM
    14:05:05:603 1f68 GPU #2: algorithm ASM
    14:05:05:619 1f68 cudaGetDeviceCount failed (35, CUDA driver version is insufficient for CUDA runtime version), probably no CUDA devices
    14:05:05:634 1f68 No NVIDIA CUDA GPUs detected.
    14:05:05:634 1f68 Total cards: 3
    14:05:08:079 1f68 No NVIDIA cards in the list, NVML library will not be used.
    14:05:08:132 1474 ETH: Stratum - connecting to 'eth-us-west1.nanopool.org' <45.63.61.87> port 9999
    14:05:08:179 1474 send: {"worker": "eth1.0", "jsonrpc": "2.0", "params": ["0x329d1b0CfF27C8734aD07c41d7865E351771995F/dood1/[email protected]", "x"], "id": 2, "method": "eth_submitLogin"}

    14:05:08:179 1474 ETH: Stratum - Connected (eth-us-west1.nanopool.org:9999)
    14:05:08:217 1f68 ETHEREUM-ONLY MINING MODE ENABLED (-mode 1)

    14:05:08:217 1f68 ETH: eth-proxy stratum mode
    14:05:08:232 1f68 Watchdog enabled
    14:05:08:232 1f68 Remote management (READ-ONLY MODE) is enabled on port 3333
    14:05:08:248 1f68

    14:05:08:495 1474 got 282 bytes
    14:05:08:501 1474 buf: {"jsonrpc":"2.0","id":2,"result":true}
    {"jsonrpc":"2.0","id":0,"result":["0x0aa468380b73c968348c311ba09e97a54ab1510591ad17a78d40c2094476c440","0x51e74ac038c9e3e66658ef25c159102238ecfd6ec09db5abc675fa9207530dad","0x000000006df37f675ef6eadf5ab9a2072d44268d97df837e6748956e5c6c2116"]}

    14:05:08:501 1474 parse packet: 38
    14:05:08:517 1474 ETH: Authorized
    14:05:08:517 1474 send: {"worker": "", "jsonrpc": "2.0", "params": [], "id": 3, "method": "eth_getWork"}

    14:05:08:532 1474 remove first packet 243
    14:05:08:532 1474 new buf size: 243
    14:05:08:548 1474 parse packet: 242
    14:05:08:548 1474 ETH: job changed
    14:05:08:564 1474 new buf size: 0
    14:05:08:616 a80 Setting DAG epoch #165...
    14:05:08:716 1474 got 243 bytes
    14:05:08:716 1474 buf: {"jsonrpc":"2.0","id":0,"result":["0x0aa468380b73c968348c311ba09e97a54ab1510591ad17a78d40c2094476c440","0x51e74ac038c9e3e66658ef25c159102238ecfd6ec09db5abc675fa9207530dad","0x000000006df37f675ef6eadf5ab9a2072d44268d97df837e6748956e5c6c2116"]}

    14:05:08:716 1474 parse packet: 242
    14:05:08:732 1474 ETH: job is the same
    14:05:08:732 1474 new buf size: 0
    14:05:11:242 1444 Setting DAG epoch #165 for GPU1
    14:05:11:242 142c Setting DAG epoch #165 for GPU0
    14:05:11:227 a80 Setting DAG epoch #165 for GPU2
    14:05:11:258 142c Create GPU buffer for GPU0
    14:05:11:242 1444 Create GPU buffer for GPU1
    14:05:11:273 a80 Create GPU buffer for GPU2
  • kurthunkkurthunk Member Posts: 17
    edited January 26
    Do you have an extra stick of RAM? I would try adding some more. I had a similar issue when I added an additional card. More RAM fixed it right up.
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    I don't, but do I need one? If I do not have to, I don't wanna to buy another stick of RAM. Thanks.
  • sutheksuthek Member Posts: 314 ✭✭
    edited January 26
    try simpleminer. I always had stupid issues with getting windows working. various crashes... blue screens after x hours...
    switched to simpleminer and now I have like 3 weeks without reboots.

    takes like 10 minutes to get working and doesn't require any special experience or skills.
    yes it's linux... but you don't need to know anything about linux. stupid easy.

    likely will magically solve all your crashing issues.


    but if you're stubborn and want to use windows...
    try making sure your windows page file is set right. needs to be pretty big.

    also, try setting your clocks super low... like 1100 mhz and 1700 ram clock.
    just for testing... to ensure clocks aren't the issue.

    But honestly... trying to tinker and tweak windows to work properly is painful. save yourself some pain and get simpleminer.
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    I want to try and stay with Windows for now. Any other fixes?
  • wcryanwcryan Member Posts: 157
    try increasing your virtual memory. look it up on youtube. Just type in ethereum mining increasing virtual memroy. They have good tutorials
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    I have already increased my virtual memory to 16GB.
  • Ericjh801Ericjh801 Utah, USAMember Posts: 360 ✭✭
    If you have another stick of ram hanging around, just try that. It seems like a memory issue if it's dieing out while creating the buffer.
  • rmhrmh Member Posts: 387 ✭✭✭
    Try -lidag 2
    -lidag low intensity mode for DAG generation, it can help with OC or weak PSU. Supported values are 0, 1, 2, 3, more value means lower intensity. Example: "-lidag 1".
    You can also specify values for every card, for example "-lidag 1,0,3". Default value is "0" (no low intensity for DAG generation).
  • PalladanPalladan Member Posts: 24
    Thanks @rmh will be trying this with my problem RX4804G tonight. I know it's not PSU as it's in my test bench at the moment and it's stock/unmodded. Reckoned it was dodgy memory and useless. Will update this thread in case anyone else finds it.
  • kurthunkkurthunk Member Posts: 17
    Please just get more RAM. Save us all some trouble.
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    If it comes to that, I will, but I prefer not to. I also want to make sure that will fix my problem before I got out and buy it.
  • sutheksuthek Member Posts: 314 ✭✭
    dood76 said:

    If it comes to that, I will, but I prefer not to. I also want to make sure that will fix my problem before I got out and buy it.

    you're being silly. numerous solutions have been provided of which i can guarantee at least one would solve your problem... but you want to keep getting more solutions provided until you hear one that you like.
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    I have tried all of those solutions (besides buying the RAM), they just have not worked. I didn't mean to be pushy, sorry.
  • Ericjh801Ericjh801 Utah, USAMember Posts: 360 ✭✭
    I'd honestly bite the bullet and try ram. It's not that expensive to get another 4gb stick/etc. When I build a rig, 8gb is the minimum I go with. Good luck!
    dood76 said:

    I have tried all of those solutions (besides buying the RAM), they just have not worked. I didn't mean to be pushy, sorry.

  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    Ok, I will report back once I get the other stick of RAM. Hopefully, it works, thanks!
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    I added another 4GB stick, for a total of 8GB. However, I still get the same issue.
  • Ericjh801Ericjh801 Utah, USAMember Posts: 360 ✭✭
    So does the computer actually shutdown/freeze when this happens? Try it again and after you reboot, go into "event viewer" for windows, then go into Windows Logs, System. Look for things with Red error's or Warnings (hopefully not a ton of them). They might give you another idea of what's causing it. Feel free to copy any of those here. You'd want to look for the ones right before the computer restarted (you should see a noticeable gap in the date/time for reboot).
  • Ericjh801Ericjh801 Utah, USAMember Posts: 360 ✭✭
    Also did you try the previous comment about adding this to the command line? -lidag 2
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    I did try adding -lidag 2. However, it did not work. I will post my Window event log findings soon.
  • sutheksuthek Member Posts: 314 ✭✭
    dood76 said:

    I did try adding -lidag 2. However, it did not work. I will post my Window event log findings soon.

    Also post your simpleminer OS event log for when you tried that.
  • Ericjh801Ericjh801 Utah, USAMember Posts: 360 ✭✭
    Pretty sure he's using windows. Though maybe he should give Linux a try.
    suthek said:

    dood76 said:

    I did try adding -lidag 2. However, it did not work. I will post my Window event log findings soon.

    Also post your simpleminer OS event log for when you tried that.
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    Nothing in my windows event logs. I think I might just try and re-install Widows, hopefully that will work.
  • Ericjh801Ericjh801 Utah, USAMember Posts: 360 ✭✭
    I guess it's not a bad solution. Troubleshooting mining rigs can be fun right? Reinstall with just 1 GPU and add them individually.
  • kurthunkkurthunk Member Posts: 17
    Do we even know this graphics card works by itself? You can try -di 2 to run only it and see if get anywhere.
  • dood76dood76 Member Posts: 21
    I know the cards work because after multiple restarts, I can sometimes get the miner to finally work.
Sign In or Register to comment.