Need a Ted Talk

samjankussamjankus Member Posts: 95
Maybe more like an online course...

Noob here. Can someone explain exactly what the bolded statement means? Is this referring to fields in polariseditor? What's a 1500 strap? I would love to get an extra 20% out of my msi rx480.

Thanks,

Sam

" I've also got the armor 4gb 480 hynix and it wont do more than 26/27. Im running 1275/1900 with 1500 strap. Mem can't go higher without errors, and I can push core but no point afaik. Also, the bios for these cards don't support undervolting :(, so the only way to get it lower is to force it with wattman in windows :disappointed: "

Comments

• samjankussamjankus Member Posts: 95
    edited July 9
    A little background. I started mining cause I think it's pretty historic what's going on with cryptocurrencies and I just wanted to be a tiny part of it, so I upgraded my PC that I keep on 24 hours anyway, and bought the following off Ebay/Newegg/Amazon about 2 weeks ago:

MSI RX480 4GB ARMOR OC GDDR5 Hynix - $380
    Sapphire Radeon R9 Fury Nitro OC - $380
    Z170A Gaming M5 Mobo for up to 7 GPU (way overkill) - $150
    Celeron G3930 2.9GHz - $40
    8Gb 2133 Ram - $25
    NZXT S340 Case - $70

Sorry for details I'm a hardware engineer and I love to line itemize I guess.
    I have to say that I'm super impressed by the Celeron. I have not tested the power draw personally but I've read enough other posts to know it just sips, around 20-27W, maybe lower dunno. Compared to the NHM Bloomfield it's replacing, it's about 20% of the NHM. Quite frankly since I'm using it for my regular desktop it's just not quite sharp enough, so I'm upgrading to an i3-7300 @ 4Ghz. Still same TDP of 51W, and with all the sophisticated power management they have on cores these days, CPU typical usage is really becoming completely negligible; even for a dedicated miner the top companies are doing a lot better job controlling leakage.