Solo Mining - Do I need to be mining contienously to earn ether?

fosil100fosil100 Posts: 6
I'm new to mining ether, so i apologize if this question sounds dumb

Is there a big advantage (in term of speed) in using mining pools vs solo mining?

I'm also wondering if I choose solo mining, does it need to be continuous for it to count? Say i mine for a few hours every day. Would I still eventually be rewarded?

Thanks in advance!!!

Comments

• Dave2kDave2k Posts: 38
    hey,
    yes, you want to mine continuously. You wouldn't want to solo mine, if you don't have a very high hashrate.
    Im not too sure about the explanation, but I'll give it a try:
    You will not find a valid hash that makes up a complete block in a reasonable timeframe.
  • BUTUZBUTUZ Posts: 119 ✭✭
    Mine in a pool. You cant solo mine on your own you'd need a warehouse full of cards to make it worth while and given the terrible difficulty increases solo mining is for Chinese factorys only IMHO.
  • fosil100fosil100 Posts: 6
    Dave2k said:

hey,
    yes, you want to mine continuously. You wouldn't want to solo mine, if you don't have a very high hashrate.
    Im not too sure about the explanation, but I'll give it a try:
    You will not find a valid hash that makes up a complete block in a reasonable timeframe.

hey guys, thanks for the reply

Would I have to be mining continuously even if i'm using a pool?

Lastly is a there a guide to using a pool that you guys recommend?
  • MrN1ce9uyMrN1ce9uy Posts: 67
    You don't have to mine continuously with a pool. For instance, with nanopool it will keep your ETH in a temporary account even if you stop mining, then just start mining again until you reach the payout amount. It is attached to your wallet address. You can use multiple machines to mine toward the same wallet address, stopping and starting as you please.
  • iamnoobplzhelpiamnoobplzhelp Posts: 29