RX 580 Hashrate

24567

Comments

  • lablettlablett Posts: 151Member
    Have you set max performance in MS Windows as I was losing 2mhs on my new build.

    a. Open Explorer - right mouse click on 'This PC' and choose properties.
    b . Select Advacned System settings on the left hand side.
    c. Click on the button 'Settings' in the performance group.
    d . Select 'Adjust for best performance'
    e. reboot and retry.
  • Hytech2kHytech2k Posts: 130Member ✭✭
    edited May 6
    I have tried this on 4 different OS's :) Win 7 Pro 64bit, Win 10 Pro 64bit, EthOS, and Simpleminer... I get the same results no matter what way I go. The memory is crap, mixture of Elpida/Micron. Honestly for the money, they're a waste of time so far..

    To put it in perspective, I paid $214 for the RX 580 4G's, have to use 17.4.3 drivers and up, and getting 27.5 @ 160watts.

    I just installed a Powercolor Red Devil RX480 8G, applied Boysies rom and hashing at 30 @ 80watts.... Paid $269 for the Red Devil, well worth the extra $50 bucks or so and uses half the power plus I had it install, rom flashed, and hashing in less that 15 minutes.

    I spent 6 hours messing with the 580's, Midoprince put in another few.. that's enough.

    If and when the supply for 480's dries up or the prices go to the moon then i'll revisit the 580's and Vegas...

    just my opinion....

    maybe in time, some of the more experience modders will share a good rom with some custom timings to make these hash better.. Till then i'll wait it out and stay with the 480's..

    Hytech2k
    Post edited by Hytech2k on
  • lablettlablett Posts: 151Member
    Hytech2k said:

    I have tried this on 4 different OS's :) Win 7 Pro 64bit, Win 10 Pro 64bit, EthOS, and Simpleminer... I get the same results no matter what way I go. The memory is crap, mixture of Elpida/Micron. Honestly for the money, they're a waste of time so far..

    To put it in perspective, I paid $214 for the RX 580 4G's, have to use 17.4.3 drivers and up, and getting 27.5 @ 160watts.

    I just installed a Powercolor Red Devil RX480 8G, applied Boysies rom and hashing at 30 @ 80watts.... Paid $269 for the Red Devil, well worth the extra $50 bucks or so and uses half the power plus I had it install, rom flashed, and hashing in less that 15 minutes.

    I spent 6 hours messing with the 580's, Midoprince put in another few.. that's enough.

    If and when the supply for 480's dries up or the prices go to the moon then i'll revisit the 580's and Vegas...

    just my opinion....

    maybe in time, some of the more experience modders will share a good rom with some custom timings to make these hash better.. Till then i'll wait it out and stay with the 480's..

    Hytech2k

    been mining for years and hence I went for the MSI gaming 480/580 8gb. They rock and both give 30mhs with one BIOS tweak.

  • Hytech2kHytech2k Posts: 130Member ✭✭
    edited May 7
    lablett said:

    Hytech2k said:

    I have tried this on 4 different OS's :) Win 7 Pro 64bit, Win 10 Pro 64bit, EthOS, and Simpleminer... I get the same results no matter what way I go. The memory is crap, mixture of Elpida/Micron. Honestly for the money, they're a waste of time so far..

    To put it in perspective, I paid $214 for the RX 580 4G's, have to use 17.4.3 drivers and up, and getting 27.5 @ 160watts.

    I just installed a Powercolor Red Devil RX480 8G, applied Boysies rom and hashing at 30 @ 80watts.... Paid $269 for the Red Devil, well worth the extra $50 bucks or so and uses half the power plus I had it install, rom flashed, and hashing in less that 15 minutes.

    I spent 6 hours messing with the 580's, Midoprince put in another few.. that's enough.

    If and when the supply for 480's dries up or the prices go to the moon then i'll revisit the 580's and Vegas...

    just my opinion....

    maybe in time, some of the more experience modders will share a good rom with some custom timings to make these hash better.. Till then i'll wait it out and stay with the 480's..

    Hytech2k

    been mining for years and hence I went for the MSI gaming 480/580 8gb. They rock and both give 30mhs with one BIOS tweak.

    Yeah I agree, MSI for the most part makes a good card. I think luck wasn't on my side memory wise when I ordered these. Guntis is running the same 4gb versions I am and is getting 29 but he's got hynix memory versions.

    I watched BBT do a build with the MSI RX 580 Gaming x 8gb versions with samsung memory and he was getting 30 pretty easy...

    I might try the 8gb version but with my luck i'll get some micron hybrid rather than samsung... :) I have the MSI 480s in 4gb and 8gb and they're awesome, run cool and stable..

    I'm running linux right now, but i'll drop my Win 10 SSD on and give those settings you suggested a shot and let you know..

    Hytech2k

    EDIT: I tried out your suggestion of changing windows to performance mode, it didn't change the hash rate, but did seem to make it more stable... If I push the mem clocks much above 1955 hash drops off and HWinfo starts reporting errors in the billions....

    Maybe this was just a bad batch. I would expect this from the Armor series but I though Gaming X was one of their flagship cards...

    Anyway I appreciate the suggestions, thnx !!

    Hytech2k
    Post edited by Hytech2k on
  • AkromaAkroma Posts: 72Member
    hi guys, sorry to ask.

    is rx 480 4gb hynix good with 1500 straps? or it has to be other number?

    thanks :(
  • RospyRospy Posts: 4Member
    hi, guys, I am new on the forum! I just wanted to post my 2 new cards I was testing them and modify them 2 days, finally, I get 30 MH's from both of them after modding the bios, Msi RX 580 8G enjoy stable!
  • ciprianptciprianpt Posts: 181Member ✭✭
    Rospy said:

    hi, guys, I am new on the forum! I just wanted to post my 2 new cards I was testing them and modify them 2 days, finally, I get 30 MH's from both of them after modding the bios, Msi RX 580 8G enjoy stable!

    Looks good but unlock voltage and set it to -100 and i would lower gpu clock to 1150/1130. Your power draw on gpuz is 137.9w and from wall is like 170w -180w which is a lot..
  • RospyRospy Posts: 4Member
    thank you for the tip I will try it!
  • andreas911andreas911 Posts: 22Member
    Hi Guys, this ist my first post in the forum.

    I have 4 new Powercolor Red Devil RX580 8G and need a Bios Rom for ether mining.

    Is there already a bios rom, or should I make the tweak?

    Thanks for helping.
  • andreas911andreas911 Posts: 22Member
    And 2nd question, which GPU driver is recommended? The most recent?
  • wonderfullifewonderfullife Posts: 103Member
    Rospy said:

    hi, guys, I am new on the forum! I just wanted to post my 2 new cards I was testing them and modify them 2 days, finally, I get 30 MH's from both of them after modding the bios, Msi RX 580 8G enjoy stable!

    Your power consumption is higher than the other people who dual-mine with those cards.
  • insaniakinsaniak Posts: 64Member
    Msi rx580 8gb I've gotten 30.5 mh/s average with 90 watts from gpuz
  • npehamnpeham Posts: 3Member
    edited May 15
    Hi,
    I am currently using 6x rx580 sapphire nitro+ hynix mem 8gb
    Bios mod:
    Copied this strap:

    777000000000000022AA1C00B56A6D46C0551017BE8E060C006AE6000C081420EA8900AB030000001B162C31C0313F17

    Into the 1750-2250 strap and set the volt to -75mv using trixx.


    My problem is the watt consumtion.
    The rig draws 1500 watt and i think this is not normal.

    I would really appreciate any tipps regarding the power drawn from the wall and if this is normal.

    Edit: i tried to run
    Mobo with psu and ssd(130W)
    Mobo with psu , ssd and 1 rx 580 (350W)

    So the rx 580 draws something like 220W but shows only 145 in gpu-z

    I think this isnt normal at all
    Post edited by npeham on
  • CYCCYC Posts: 4Member
    Rospy said:

    hi, guys, I am new on the forum! I just wanted to post my 2 new cards I was testing them and modify them 2 days, finally, I get 30 MH's from both of them after modding the bios, Msi RX 580 8G enjoy stable!

    Excuse me, that's the rx 580 armor msi card? What bios are you using?
  • andreas911andreas911 Posts: 22Member
    edited May 16
    Red Devil RX580 8GB
    24.8 MH/s
    150 Watts
    Claymore miner

    Edit:
    Samsung memory
    Post edited by andreas911 on
  • mshordjamshordja Posts: 61Member
    npeham said:

    Hi,
    I am currently using 6x rx580 sapphire nitro+ hynix mem 8gb
    Bios mod:
    Copied this strap:

    777000000000000022AA1C00B56A6D46C0551017BE8E060C006AE6000C081420EA8900AB030000001B162C31C0313F17

    Into the 1750-2250 strap and set the volt to -75mv using trixx.


    My problem is the watt consumtion.
    The rig draws 1500 watt and i think this is not normal.

    I would really appreciate any tipps regarding the power drawn from the wall and if this is normal.

    Edit: i tried to run
    Mobo with psu and ssd(130W)
    Mobo with psu , ssd and 1 rx 580 (350W)

    So the rx 580 draws something like 220W but shows only 145 in gpu-z

    I think this isnt normal at all

    I have the pulse version with hynix memory with the same strap and the system with 2 RX 580 8GB is consuming 350W from the wall, 50 w the mobo it self so every one of the card is getting 150W from the wall. And the hash rate is stable with 29.5 Mh/s. I use afterbur to under-volt, u can check there all my configuration, u can try the same.
  • andreas911andreas911 Posts: 22Member

    Red Devil RX580 8GB
    24.8 MH/s
    150 Watts
    Claymore miner

    Edit:
    Samsung memory

    What can i do to arrived up to 29 Mh/s?
  • fr3ddytofr3ddyto Posts: 3Member
    Hi I have 7 sapphire rx 580 8gb hynix with bios modified 28 Mh / s but I did not get to put the 7 gpus in 28mh / s I tried one by one gpu and using afterburner I have 28mh ..! But when using the 7 gpus only one gets 28 the rest 25 mh ..! I'd appreciate your help


  • ecs87ecs87 Dekalb, ILPosts: 232Member ✭✭
    Uhh...holy Toledo guys. The power consumption seen from the last few shots are insane. Has anyone tried to undervolt these even more? 180-200w at the wall is insane. My RX480s pull 150w from the wall at max.
  • botarnoldbotarnold Posts: 16Member
    I just got 3 Msi Armor 580 8G's
    They are 25mh out of the box, samsung memory. If I up the memory to 2200-2250mhz I get 27.5mh with 115w showing in GPU Z. I havnt modded the bios yet or adjust power and voltages.


  • ciprianptciprianpt Posts: 181Member ✭✭
    nitro+ rx 580 8gb

    1130/2150 -96mV
    140w wall
    100w gpuz

    1150/2150 -96mv
    160w from wall
    115w gpuz

    30mh/s eth only
  • MARETH2MARETH2 Posts: 35Member
    edited May 18
    I have 7x nitro+ rx570 4gb and my power consumtption is also high. Is that because it has 1x8pin + 1x6pin power connectors instead of just one?

    1110/2000 -96mV
    153w wall
    105w gpuz
    28.3 mh/s

    All the cards are the same, but they have mixed memory. Some of them have samsung and some hynix.

  • BigBird1400BigBird1400 Posts: 10Member
    Rospy said:

    hi, guys, I am new on the forum! I just wanted to post my 2 new cards I was testing them and modify them 2 days, finally, I get 30 MH's from both of them after modding the bios, Msi RX 580 8G enjoy stable!

    Rospy, What bios mods have you made. I can only get my msi rx 580 OC 8GB to ~27.9 MH/s. I have copied the 1:1750 to 1:2000 strap and memory 200 MHz from 1000 to 900.

    For others, when I try to underclock -100 I drop down to 5 MH/s anyone have any thoughts?
  • ecs87ecs87 Dekalb, ILPosts: 232Member ✭✭
    MARETH2 said:

    I have 7x nitro+ rx570 4gb and my power consumtption is also high. Is that because it has 1x8pin + 1x6pin power connectors instead of just one?

    1110/2000 -96mV
    153w wall
    105w gpuz
    28.3 mh/s

    All the cards are the same, but they have mixed memory. Some of them have samsung and some hynix.

    I doubt that's the issue. The extra power connectors are for extra power that the card might potentially need (remember, the 500 series is just the 400 series with MORE voltage and therefore needs MORE watts). Try to undervolt it more using WattTool. If the max it can go is -100mV without crashing...then it's a cold day in hell for your RX570's power consumption.
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Posts: 245Member ✭✭
    ecs87 said:

    MARETH2 said:

    I have 7x nitro+ rx570 4gb and my power consumtption is also high. Is that because it has 1x8pin + 1x6pin power connectors instead of just one?

    1110/2000 -96mV
    153w wall
    105w gpuz
    28.3 mh/s

    All the cards are the same, but they have mixed memory. Some of them have samsung and some hynix.

    I doubt that's the issue. The extra power connectors are for extra power that the card might potentially need (remember, the 500 series is just the 400 series with MORE voltage and therefore needs MORE watts). Try to undervolt it more using WattTool. If the max it can go is -100mV without crashing...then it's a cold day in hell for your RX570's power consumption.
    5xx in general are better binned than 4xx - I have this nice MSI Gaming X 580 8G that will mine Eth at 0.85V - it'll even do 0.825V, but then it gets a tad unstable. This is on Linux, btw.
  • BigBird1400BigBird1400 Posts: 10Member
    I have seen screenshots of people running their RX 580's with -100 voltage and ~30 MH/s.
    I am currently stuck ~ 27.8 MH/s. When ever I try to modify the voltage my hashrate drops to ~4-5 MH/s. Below are screen shots if anyone would help that would be amazing.
    Bios Editor
    https://prnt.sc/f9qh5p
    Afterburner
    https://prnt.sc/f9qhbp
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Posts: 245Member ✭✭

    I have seen screenshots of people running their RX 580's with -100 voltage and ~30 MH/s.
    I am currently stuck ~ 27.8 MH/s. When ever I try to modify the voltage my hashrate drops to ~4-5 MH/s. Below are screen shots if anyone would help that would be amazing.
    Bios Editor
    https://prnt.sc/f9qh5p
    Afterburner
    https://prnt.sc/f9qhbp

    Need to know card make/model.
  • BigBird1400BigBird1400 Posts: 10Member
    Wolf0 said:

    I have seen screenshots of people running their RX 580's with -100 voltage and ~30 MH/s.
    I am currently stuck ~ 27.8 MH/s. When ever I try to modify the voltage my hashrate drops to ~4-5 MH/s. Below are screen shots if anyone would help that would be amazing.
    Bios Editor
    https://prnt.sc/f9qh5p
    Afterburner
    https://prnt.sc/f9qhbp

    Need to know card make/model.
    Sorry I left that out. MSI RX 580 OC Armour 8GB
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Posts: 245Member ✭✭

    Wolf0 said:

    I have seen screenshots of people running their RX 580's with -100 voltage and ~30 MH/s.
    I am currently stuck ~ 27.8 MH/s. When ever I try to modify the voltage my hashrate drops to ~4-5 MH/s. Below are screen shots if anyone would help that would be amazing.
    Bios Editor
    https://prnt.sc/f9qh5p
    Afterburner
    https://prnt.sc/f9qhbp

    Need to know card make/model.
    Sorry I left that out. MSI RX 580 OC Armour 8GB
    Damn - that's one I don't have, so I don't know the VRM controller in use. However, if you can OC other GPUs just fine, and that one either will not change, or causes weird shit to happen, I would say it's safe to say it's probably not one of the super common ones (the two most common being IR3567B-compatible and NCP81022.)

    Because of this, you're probably shit outta luck for voltage until someone makes/releases a tool that supports it, or someone updates an existing tool with support for it.
  • BigBird1400BigBird1400 Posts: 10Member
    Alright well I appreciate it. I found a guide that has the modded bios and voltage for the msi rx 580 OC armor 8GB. If I get a response from the article writer ill pass that info along here.
Sign In or Register to comment.