Help with issues getting 6th GPU to work

techninetechnine Member Posts: 4
I have been running this rig for a few months now, no matter what I try I cannot get it to run 6 cards properly. Cards are Powercolor Red Devil RX480's with Boysie's 31MH Bios. Initially all 6 cards would run but one would consistently fluctuate all over the place with regards to GPU clock rate. It wasn't thermal throttling and it wasn't the overclock (it happened even with the stock BIOS). I figured it was that card so I sent it off to Powercolor under RMA. While the rig was running with 5 cards it was rock solid, ran for 3 weeks straight without me having to touch it once. After I got the RMA back from Powercolor I put the new card in and everything went back to the same fluctuating GPU clock on one card, boot issues, crashing as soon as I launch claymores if I can get it to boot, as well as sometimes windows only recognizing 4 or 5 cards. If i unplug one card (doesn't matter which one) everything goes back to normal, super stable.

I purchased a new Riser thinking that might be the issue, problems continue. I reinstalled windows, same issue. Tried current drivers as well as 16.11.5 no fix. I tried setting PCIe to Gen 1 in BIOS but issues persist. I'm running out of possibilities and figured I would come to you guys for help.

Board ASROCK H81 Pro BTC
PSU 1300W EVGA Supernova
8GB RAM
128GB SSD
Windows 10

Comments

• a1ex772a1ex772 Member Posts: 3