rx480 Micron memory. Not the worst?

DariensDariens Posts: 4Member
edited April 9 in Mining
Hey forum,
As few of you guys I have end up with some micron memory cards, which according to some "experts" are the worst
I bought 2x sapphire nitro rx 480 8gb, figured out that micron memory is different then other and there is not much information available.
well spend a few hours flashing and reflashing my cards end up with some decent hashing rates, thought will share with you guys.


first thing is crimson version! flashing of micron memory cards seems not working in a newer crimson driver versions,
cant really explain it why but it worked for me only with 16.9.1 version ( http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/Radeon-Software-Crimson-Edition-16-9-1-Release-Notes.aspx )

found a lots of useful information here :
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1843147.0

my bios mod attached at the bottom.

wattool settings :


depending on your asic quality you can set you mem clock 2050-2150
my one card has 67% asic quality and seems stable at 2060 mem clock
other asic quality 81% stable at 2100 mem clock

if it was helpful feel free to buy me a beer :
0x6284500B0163e857a40617764180a137e6F0C521

happy mining :)



Post edited by Dariens on

Comments

  • proaffproaff Posts: 20Member
    My cards are sapphire nitro(non plus) rx 480 8gb micron and I have been reading the same thread. I even tried to contact some of the writers and one told me he would charge 150$ for a custom rom (lol!).
    Anyway I'm gonna give it a shot and reply back. 150 MH/s currently on 6 cards.. I would've gotten more with a non micron rx 470 :D
  • TruthchanterTruthchanter Posts: 543Member ✭✭
    Which strap timing did you use for this?
  • DariensDariens Posts: 4Member
    proaff
    that's the cards I've got (non plus)

    Truthchanter
    if you tried editing micron bios you know there is double memory straps
    I've used
    strap 1: 1500 all the way
    strap 2: 1000 all the way
    my rom is attached to the post btw
    but its important to pay attention to wattool settings as well

    if anyone needs it ill attach a polaris bios editor for micron
  • BigPinkFlamingoBigPinkFlamingo Posts: 20Member
    Hello. I have flashed my card, but I still have a memory limit of 1950MHz, how can I fix this?
  • drRobertdrRobert Posts: 34Member
    edited April 9
    The main problem it is on Micron you can't edit memory timing that help to increase so much mhs rate.
    Example a most cheap 470 can do 30-31 mhs (no micron memory) with timing edit and consume also less power than 480.

    All micron chip are bullshit.
  • chirash333chirash333 Posts: 9Member
    F..k me.. i have 6 rx 480 8gb micron s .
  • waldirsp11waldirsp11 Posts: 2Member
    edited April 12
    hey man, when i backup my bios with atiflash, i get 256kb, and your bios is 512kb ... its right? Or you use another tool? I dont want brick my card ...
  • newfullusernewfulluser Posts: 7Member
    edited April 12
    Micron is bad because with two Samsung RX470 4GB I'm getting stable 29.8 - 30 mh/s and the micron is an 8GB card which costs 50€ more but is lower than what my 470s are getting.

    If you bought them from amazon you can still return them for free and buy again, hopefully you end up with something better.
  • waldirsp11waldirsp11 Posts: 2Member
    Dariens said:

    Hey forum,
    As few of you guys I have end up with some micron memory cards, which according to some "experts" are the worst
    I bought 2x sapphire nitro rx 480 8gb, figured out that micron memory is different then other and there is not much information available.
    well spend a few hours flashing and reflashing my cards end up with some decent hashing rates, thought will share with you guys.


    first thing is crimson version! flashing of micron memory cards seems not working in a newer crimson driver versions,
    cant really explain it why but it worked for me only with 16.9.1 version ( http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/Radeon-Software-Crimson-Edition-16-9-1-Release-Notes.aspx )

    found a lots of useful information here :
    https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1843147.0

    my bios mod attached at the bottom.

    wattool settings :


    depending on your asic quality you can set you mem clock 2050-2150
    my one card has 67% asic quality and seems stable at 2060 mem clock
    other asic quality 81% stable at 2100 mem clock

    if it was helpful feel free to buy me a beer :
    0x6284500B0163e857a40617764180a137e6F0C521

    happy mining :)







    hey man, when i backup my bios with atiflash, i get 256kb, and your bios is 512kb ... its right? Or you use another tool to backup/flash bios? I dont want brick my card ...
  • DariensDariens Posts: 4Member
    @waldirsp11 not too sure man how you get 256kb I use atiflash as well
  • zagarerzagarer Posts: 3Member
    can help my card with micron
    My card sapphire rx 470 4g nitro oc+
    https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B4M-29eEXIA7dVpiMHk0ZW83czA
  • codycodecodycode Posts: 1Member
    I also get a 256kb image when I dump using atiflash, I know that my cards are Sapphire RX480 nitro 11260-20-20G, perhaps your card is different then.
  • sil714sil714 Posts: 2Member
    Thank you so much for the Mod!!!
    I have a rig with 4 cards - SAPPHIRE NITRO RX 470 8GB OC micron. Yesterday i decide to flash the bios with this Mod and now my system recognise the cards like RX 480. The cards running stable at 1144/2050 and i get 28.5MH/s per card, temp is 55-57C fanspeed 50% and -90watt for the rig. On dual mining ETC+DCR 27.5MH/s and 828MH/s per card, temp is 57-59C fanspeed 65% and 720watt for the rig.
  • sot173sot173 Posts: 10Member
    edited April 22
    Anyone else had success with this rom (29mh480micron) on a Sapphire RX470 8GB OC with Micron memory?
  • ericeric Posts: 74Member
    sil714 said:

    Thank you so much for the Mod!!!
    I have a rig with 4 cards - SAPPHIRE NITRO RX 470 8GB OC micron. Yesterday i decide to flash the bios with this Mod and now my system recognise the cards like RX 480. The cards running stable at 1144/2050 and i get 28.5MH/s per card, temp is 55-57C fanspeed 50% and -90watt for the rig. On dual mining ETC+DCR 27.5MH/s and 828MH/s per card, temp is 57-59C fanspeed 65% and 720watt for the rig.

    we have the same card
    im having artifacts on this mod. did you change anything on the wattman?
  • sil714sil714 Posts: 2Member
    edited 8:58AM
    The only thing that i edited in wattool was P1 - 2050, you can try different setting less than 2100. Check your drivers only 16.9.1 version working.
Sign In or Register to comment.