What is stored in the Blockchain from a Smart Contract?

Hi,

I'm an student developing private ethereum Blockchain and I have a question.

When I deploy my Smart Contract on the Blockchain, the full Smart Contract is stored there. Suposing that my smart contract is just a storage of a variable with a setter and a getter, when I call the setter function, what is stored in the blockchain? Only the function setter, or the full smart contract?

I'm working on the voting exemple of ethereum, and i'm worried about the cost in data storage of it.

Thank you and sorry for my bad English

Comments

• o0ragman0oo0ragman0o Posts: 1,251Member, Moderator mod
    Hi @Drumsjuanma When you deploy a contract, that bytecode goes onto the blockchain as the data of the transaction, which is immutable. Associated with that is the 'state root' which the contract's branch into the state trie, which is a mutable database.
    When you call a contract's function, that transaction and the data associated with it, such as the parameters, is also stored on the blockchain, however any changed that are made by the function to the state variable are store in the state trie.

State storage is purposefully expensive and there is a gas discount if you delete it. Fundamentally, the state is organised into 256bit slots (as the EVM itself is a 256bit processor). So any variable you create in your contract takes one slot, however there is an optimiser which can pack types of short length together into a single slot. This is most valuable when using structs e.g.

This struct takes up 3 slots...
    struct Cat
    bytes32 name; // Takes a full 32byte State slot
    uint age; // Takes 256bits (32bytes) Though realy only 8 bits are needed for this datum
    bool gender; // bools take up 8 bits even when packed, but because there's nothing else to pack with wastes a whole 32byte slot
    Using uint8 for age means that age and gender get packed into the one slot and the struct therefore only requires 2.